The Book VS The Movie

Some Of Our Favorite Movie Adaptations!

This is a little late, but since our prompt of last month was “movie adaptations”, we thought that we’d talk a bit about some of our favorite ones! Note that some of us picked more than one, since it was so difficult to choose one alone. Some of us are just that indecisive.


Eliza: 

a) Harry Potter (2001-2011)

Call me predictable, but I firmly say that these movies are really really good. Besides the fact that they introduced me to the wizarding world (really well, I might add), they’re also a great representation of it; they managed to be extremely interesting, well-done, and unique in their own ways while also keeping the spirit of the book true and alive. I binge watched these movies again earlier this year for my birthday, and I can say that what I say about them is true, and not me simply being biased.

They also managed to make the movies not ruin/overshadow the books (thank goodness). I grew up watching the Harry Potter movies, so when I first started reading them, I was pleasantly surprised to find that the books were not any less interesting because of the movie. That’s something that I think is rare in book adaptations. And I’m really glad that they were able to make it so! 

b) Wonder (2017)

I really loved this movie. This was what introduced me to one of the best books I’d ever read. And, now that I’ve read the book, I can say that they did amazingly. It had most of the great things that the book had and then some, which made up for the things they couldn’t put in from the book. While I admit that this didn’t make me as emotional as the book did, I don’t think it was their fault. The thing that made me cry with the book (one of the things, at least) was when Auggie was getting up to receive his award, and I suddenly remembered something he had thought earlier during Via’s play:

I think there should be a rule that everyone in the world should get a standing ovation at least once in their lives.

I can’t remember, but I’m not sure they managed to insert that into the movie. I could be wrong, but it’s possible I could have forgotten it by the time I read the book. Even so, this movie was simply beautiful. I think that the directors really translated the book into a movie format awfully well, and I’m grateful that they did. They really made sure to keep in the kindness theme, too, which is good because I would really be mad if they didn’t. 

While I am kind of sad that Christopher was barely mentioned, and that Justin and Via kissed (sorry, I don’t support teenage kisses), there were also some changes that I thought were really good. Such as the scene where Jack and Auggie were making up through Minecraft. And I’ll never forget Auggie’s line from the movie, “Maybe my mom can homeschool you too!”, and, of course, Daveed Diggs as Mr. Browne was just… yes. 


Clarisse:

a) The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe (2005)

The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe (2005) is, in my opinion, a wonderful adaptation of Lewis’s iconic novel! It manages to stay true to the core messages of the book without coming off as outdated or stuffy. Special mentions to Harry Gregson-Williams for crafting such a memorable and stirring soundtrack, and Isis Mussenden for the very authentic-looking costumes.

b) The Princess Bride (1987)

The Princess Bride is, without a doubt, one of those iconic movies. It makes me incredibly happy to say that it holds up wonderfully as an adaptation of the novel. Of course, there’s the fact that the script was written by author William Goldman himself, but nearly everything else in the film hit that sweet spot: the performances, cinematography, and aesthetic all work together to capture the unique tone of the book. It’s a very endearing family classic that manages to balance its “parody” aspect with an earnest tale of true love.


Justin:

The Lord of the Rings (2001-2003)

Best movies.

Clarisse: I was gonna choose LOTR since it is my favorite of all time, but this guy beat me to it 😦

Milo: What can I say? Justin beat me to it!


Ciel: 

Howl’s Moving Castle (2004)

An adaptation? Uhh, not quite. Great movie? Yes, definitely. IS IT MY FAVORITE ‘ADAPTATION’? YES.


Amadeus:

Ender’s Game (2013)

–SPOILER WARNING–

I just think the Ender’s Game movie adaptation was way more realistic and grounded than the original book. Aging up everyone to be teenagers instead of elementary-age or even preschool kids was, in my opinion, the right decision, since it seriously suspends disbelief to think that kids that age could do or think anything they did in the book. I also appreciated the technology in the movie actually being given a proper sci-fi explanation which was lacking in the book, especially the giant beam thing Ender used to destroy the Formic planet, which wasn’t even properly described in the book. Aside from that, the movie got rid of the esoteric and metaphysical pieces of lore from the book, which honestly didn’t fit in a story about the morality of war. It was also quite a relief that they didn’t make Bean into an unstable genetic experiment with a really strange and unbelievable backstory, as well as making him end up with Petra in the end (because I ship Ender and Petra). Speaking of Petra, it was probably more respectful to not make her lose Ender’s trust by making her collapse during a battle, which happened in the book but not in the movie. Please don’t make a sequel with the pig aliens that turn into trees, the weird alien virus, and Ender splitting into three bodies, okay?


Ysha:

a) Children of the Sea (2019)

Does this movie succeed in condensing 5 volumes worth of the manga (Japanese comic book) into a 2 hour run-time? Not quite. Does it at least put together a coherent story for new viewers to follow. Nope. Was I absolutely blown away in pure awe, sitting in pensive reverence through the entirety of the end credits as I contemplated my place in the universe? Yup.

Because here’s the tea — a thing doesn’t need to make sense in order to be real. Even if it skips the backstories and worldbuilding nuances, the heart of the manga still bleeds itself out in this movie; pouring its lifeblood onto the audience and man, is it a sight to behold! Breathtaking doesn’t even cut how I feel about it. Soultaking, more like.

The sea is a vast and terrifying universe that we may never be able to fully comprehend. Even now, we know only fractions about what it holds. But there is an odd comfort in knowing that you are just a small, small part of something bigger; that some things are far beyond your control. Everything is so much bigger than just itself: nature, people, feelings of displacement in a world that’s hard to belong to… it’s a terrifying concept to grasp, but it is also beautiful.

So very beautiful.

b) Fantastic Mr. Fox

Fantastic Mr. Fox (2009) is my “pick me up” movie when I’m feeling down. It expands on the simple plot, turning it into a hilarious heist that extends and resolves past the original story. Characters are fleshed out in ways both painfully realistic and extravagantly deadpan. Wes Anderson’s visual style (practically its own genre by now) sets the tone perfectly, and how he portrays the strained but loving familial relationship of these foxes never fails to warm my heart. 


Kate:

Pride and Prejudice (1995)

As a fan of Jane Austen, I simply had to include this movie. My mom introduced me to the 1995 version of Pride and Prejudice, and as it was the first version of Pride and Prejudice that I had ever watched, I think it is likely to stay my favorite of all time. Don’t let its length (five hours) deter you, as the film is definitely worth the time commitment. The plot sticks very closely to that of the original book, a rare find in the world of cinema. Overall, it is an excellent adaptation of a well loved book. 🙂

HONORARY MENTIONS!:

Eliza: Inkheart (2008)! I was actually, again, introduced to the books through this film. It’s not as good as the book for sure, but it’s a good movie in it’s own right. I really loved the effects they used for when the “Silvertongues” would read aloud. I also really love the actors they chose for the characters. In my opinion, they were rather perfect for their roles. All in all, a really fun movie that adapted Inkheart into a movie format pretty well. And it does help that the movie’s ending was much more happy than the book’s.

Clarisse: a) Greta Gerwig’s Little Women (2019): a witty, unique, and refreshingly modern retelling of a beloved classic.

b) Joe Wright’s Pride and Prejudice (2005): very dramatic and immersive – for two hours you’re really inside Jane Austen’s world, seeing the rolling English fields, the elegant Regency dresses, and, of course, hearing a lovely soundtrack that truly gets you in the mood for romance and tea!

Ysha: Scott Pilgrim V.S. the World (2010) is the best comic book movie adaptation and nobody can change my mind.


I hope you enjoyed this quick post! What do you think of our choices? Do you agree? Why or why not? Tell us! And if ever you’re interested enough, do watch these movies and, of course, read the books they were based on! Now is definitely a good time to do so!

Leave a comment